Too keep informed about the August 18, 2020 election please visit shieldsforlake.com.  Otherwise continue on!

Yet another affront to the Green Swamp has just materialized as we start 2020 so we have sent out an email to those on our mailing list.  In short, The Central Florida Sand Mining Association has filed an application to change our Lake County Comprehensive plan and exclude themselves from open space requirements in the Green Swamp, giving them unrestricted access to mine all of the Green Swamp they can get their hands on.  See what the Orlando Sentinel has to say about it, then email your Lake County Planners and Commissioners below to let them know how you feel: Commissioner Sullivan – TSullivan@lakecountyfl.gov, Commissioner Campione – LCampione@lakecountyfl.gov, Commissioner Parks – SParks@lakecountyfl.gov, Commissioner Breeden – WBreeden@lakecountyfl.gov, Commissioner Blake – JBlake@lakecountyfl.gov, Planning and Zoning – planning@lakecountyfl.gov
Chief Planner Greene – sgreene@lakecountyfl.gov, Director of Planning and Zoning McClendon – Tmcclendon@lakecountyfl.gov

**************************************************************

The following paragraph pertains to a battle we lost in 2019 and are now fighting at the state level…The below image shows a zoning change to allow subdivisions within the boundaries of the Green Swamp. Existing homes are noted by the blue number 1. The images with the numbers 14 and 15 show 29 homes squeezed into the usable acres (the rest of their 284 acre parcel is swamp land). We are asking the community if this is how we envision the future of the Green Swamp – 1 home every 5 or 10 acres, or subdivisions sprinkled throughout the Green Swamp, with a net increase of 1500 homes with wells and septic tanks? (By reworking the zoning, they have gone from 6 homes on the property to 29.  If this passes, other developers will quickly follow…) You can read what the Orlando Sentinel thinks about this issue here


Welcome to KeepClermontRural.org.  This website was developed by residents of South Lake County who are concerned about the uncontrolled high density housing growth in our area.  We have recently been battling a rezoning of the southwest corner of Sawmill Lake which would increase the density of that land by 20 fold, from rural to a crowded subdivision, but other issues have arisen in the interim (see below). 

What has actually been proposed?

Please click the following link to see a PDF file from the most recent community meeting held by the developer: Community Meeting Flyer 2015

Why should you be concerned?

What can you do about it?